List of All Prime Ministers of Pakistan

List of All Prime Ministers of Pakistan (1947 to 2024) check here. Explore the history of Pakistan’s prime ministers since 1947. Learn about their terms, reasons for leaving, and political affiliations. Liaquat Ali Khan served as the first prime minister of Pakistan after independence (1947–1951).  Pakistan has seen an average of 18 Premier Ministers from the country’s inception on the 27th of July 1947. the first prime minister of Pakistan was Liaquat Ali Khan, who was in office from 1947 until 1951. Since this time the country has witnessed many leaders take on the position of the Prime Minister, each having distinct contributions to Pakistan’s political landscape. A few notable examples include Zulfikar Ali Bhutto who was the first elected and democratically elected Prime Minister and Nawaz Sharif who has been the Premier on three distinct occasions. To find a complete list of all the Prime Ministers of Pakistan with their names as well as details you can look up trustworthy sources on the internet.

Sr. No. Prime Minister Tenure
1. Liaquat Ali Khan (1947-1951)
2. Sir Khwaja Nazimmuddin (1951-1953)
3. Mohammad Ali Bogra (1953-1955)
4. Chaudhry Mohammad Ali (1955-1956)
5. Husain Shaheed Suharwardy (1956-1957)
6. Ibraheem Ismaeel Chundigar (1957-1958)
7. Sir Feroz Khan Noon (1957-1958)
8. Noor ul Ameen (1971)
9. Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto (1973-1977)
10. Mohammad Khan Junejo (1985-1988)
11. Benazir Bhutto (1988-1990)
12. Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi (Caretaker) (1990)
13. Mohammad Nawaz Sharif (1990-1993)
14. Balakh Sher Mazari (Caretaker) (1993)
15. Mian Muhammad Nawaz (1993)
16. Mr. Moin Qureshi (Caretaker) (1993)
17. Benazir Bhutto (1993-1996)
18. Malik Meraj Khalid (Caretaker) (1996-1997)
19. Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif (1997-1999)
20. Zafarullah Khan Jamali (2002-2004)
21. Chaudhary Shujat Hussain (2004)
22. Shaukat Aziz (2004-2007)
23. Muhammad Mian Somro (Caretaker) (2007-2008)
24. Yousaf Raza Gilani (2008-2012)
25. Raja Pervez Ashraf (2013)
26. Meer Hazar Khan Khoso (Caretaker) (2013)
27. Mohammad Nawaz Sharif (2013-2017)
28. Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (2017-18)
29. Nasir-ul-Mulk (Caretaker) 2018
30. Imran Khan (2018-22)
31. Mian Shahbaz Sharif (2022 to date)

List of All Prime Ministers of Pakistan

(1947 to 2024)

List of All Prime Ministers of Pakistan (1947 to 2024)

Liaquat Ali Khan: The First Prime Minister (1947-1951)

The first Prime Minister of Pakistan, Liaquat Ali Khan played a pivotal role in establishing the newly-formed nation. His leadership in the early times set the stage for the future of Pakistan.

Khawaja Nazimuddin (1951-1953)

Following the assassination attempt of Liaquat Khan, Khawaja Nazimuddin assumed office. His term was marked by challenges to regional politics as well as constitutional issues.

Muhammad Ali Bogra (1953-1955)

Muhammad Ali Bogra served as the prime minister during a time that was marked by significant geopolitical shifts as well as difficulties. His policies were aimed at stabilizing the country.

Chaudhry Muhammad Ali (1955-1956)

Chaudhry Muhammad Ali’s short term was the time of Pakistan’s first Constitution in Pakistan during the year 1956. His time in Pakistan laid the foundation for the future developments in Pakistan’s politics.

The Era of Martial Law: 1958-1971

Iskander Mirza (1955-1958)

Iskander Mirza’s presidency was the end of the early democratic period. His actions ultimately resulted in the enactment on martial law, which took place in the year 1958.

Muhammad Ayub Khan (1958-1969)

General Ayub Khan took over the presidency following the coup of 1958. His decade-long presidency saw an increase in economic activity, but also political suppression.

Yahya Khan (1969-1971)

General Yahya Khan’s reign was tainted by turbulent events that led into the Bangladesh Liberation War, which led to the partition from East Pakistan.

Return to Democracy: 1971-1977

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (1973-1977)

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto’s leadership led to the return of democratic principles. His popular policies and charismatic image created a lasting impression on the Pakistani political landscape.

The Military Regime Returns: 1977-1988

General Zia-ul-Haq (1977-1988)

General Zia-ul-Haq’s military regime profoundly altered the political landscape of Pakistan. His regime was marked by Islamization policies as well as a key part of the Afghan War.

The Uncertain 1990s

Benazir Bhutto (1988-1990, 1993-1996)

Benazir Bhutto was Pakistan’s first woman Prime Minister. She served two non-consecutive terms facing political pressures as well as economic changes.

Nawaz Sharif (1990-1993, 1997-1999)

Nawaz Sharif’s two years in office were characterized by economic growth as well as political instability. The second term he served ended prematurely because of a coup d’état.

The New Millennium: 2000s and Beyond

Pervez Musharraf (1999-2007)

General Pervez Musharraf seized power in a coup in 1999. His reign was marked by a mix of political turmoil and economic growth.

Yousaf Raza Gillani (2008-2012)

Yousaf Raza Gillani’s tenure has been marked by shift toward democracy, as well as challenges in the context of terrorist attacks.

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf (2012-2013)

Raja Pervaiz’s term focused on infrastructure and energy crisis development.

Nawaz Sharif (2013-2017)

Nawaz Sharif came back to power for a third term insisting on economic development and infrastructure projects.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (2017-2018)

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi served as the Prime Minister for a short time focused on energy projects and stability in the economy.

Imran Khan (2018-Present)

Imran Khan is a former cricketer who was appointed the Pakistan’s Prime Minister in the year 2018. His time in office was marked by efforts to tackle corruption and boost social security.


The list of Prime Ministers in Pakistan is a reflection of the country’s complicated political landscape. From its beginnings to the present, Pakistan has witnessed a wide range of political leaders, each one leaving an impression on the nation’s past. While Pakistan continues to change the political landscape of Pakistan is bound to witness new faces and new challenges in the future.

Read Also: Prime Minister Youth Business Loan 2024 Online Application Form


  1. Who was the first Pakistani Prime Minister?

Liaquat Ali Khan was Pakistan’s first Prime Minister. He served from 1947 until 1951.

  1. What was the length of time Nawaz Sharif hold as the Prime Minister?

Nawaz Sharif was the Premier Minister of Pakistan three times.

  1. Who was the first Pakistani Female Prime Minister?

Benazir Bhutto was Pakistan’s first female Prime Minister.

  1. When did Pakistan change to democracy after the time under military dictatorship?

Pakistan returned to democracy during 1973, under the direction of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto.

  1. Who’s the currently the Premier Minister in Pakistan?

In this most up-to date update Shahbaz Sharif was the prime minister of Pakistan.

Leave a Comment